My Supplement Boost · Daily Essentials
Greens Superfood
The honest version: the real doses, the evidence graded for what it’s worth, and who should skip this one.
Greens Superfood · 126 g · 30 scoops
Twenty-two real plants in a ten-second scoop.
Twenty-two fruit, vegetable and root powders — greens, reds, and botanicals — in one quick daily scoop, for the weeks your diet runs low on produce. A genuine plant-polyphenol boost when you'd otherwise get none, honestly graded and fully disclosed. Below is exactly what it does, what it doesn't, and the full arithmetic behind both — done in public, because that's the deal here.
Who it's for
This earns its place on the weeks real vegetables don't happen. Travel, night shifts, deadline stretches, the bottom of the crisper — that's exactly when 22 plants in a scoop beats the nothing it's replacing, and it's a genuinely convenient way to keep some produce in your day. We'll be equally straight about the ceiling: it's a real polyphenol contribution, not a substitute for a plate of vegetables or a clinical dose of any single botanical. Buy it for what it is — an easy plant boost — and it's a smart little habit.
The evidence
What 4.2 grams can and can't do.
Here's the honest, itemised picture of what a 4.2 g scoop of 22 plants does and doesn't do — the real benefit first, then a straight read on which single-botanical claims the dose can and can't back. This is the arithmetic most stores hope you never run.
Polyphenol intake — the honest benefit
This is the claim that survives scrutiny. Twenty-two fruit, vegetable and root powders deliver real plant polyphenols, and if your diet is genuinely low in produce, a scoop is a small contribution you weren't otherwise making. A four-week trial on a different, better-known greens powder found measurable shifts in gut bacteria in 30 people. Modest, real, and roughly the size of claim the evidence supports.
It does not replace vegetables — and the gap is fibre
A 12 g scoop of the best-known greens powder on the market carries about 2 g of fibre. This scoop is 4.2 g — a third the size — and several of its ingredients are juice powders and extracts, which have had the fibre removed by definition. One cup of cooked broccoli is 5.2 g of fibre. One cup of Brussels sprouts is 6.4 g. There is no version of this arithmetic where a scoop of powder stands in for a plate of vegetables.
Beet root and the nitrate story
Beetroot's real evidence is about dietary nitrate, and the doses that produce effects are 350–500 mg of nitrate — roughly a 70 ml concentrated shot. An analysis of marketed beetroot supplements found nitrate content ranging from 0.197 mg to 169 mg per daily dose. Beet root is the largest item in a 1,500 mg blend shared with six others. The honest answer is that we cannot tell you what's in there, and that the ceiling is far below the studied dose.
Ashwagandha, turmeric, ginseng — the 300 mg problem
Ashwagandha trials use 300–600 mg a day. Curcumin trials use 500–2,000 mg of curcuminoids, and raw turmeric is only 2–9% curcuminoids by weight. Both of those sit inside a 300 mg blend shared six ways. Even handing the entire blend to one ingredient, you'd reach the bottom of the ashwagandha range and nowhere near turmeric's. Split six ways, neither is close.
Spirulina
Spirulina research uses roughly 4.5–6 g a day. That is more than this entire scoop, and spirulina is the third-listed item in one of four blends. Whatever spirulina does at studied doses, this is not that dose. Worth knowing separately: where spirulina has caused problems, contamination with other cyanobacteria was the suspected cause — which makes sourcing and testing the thing to ask about, not the organism itself.
Everything on the label
Every blend, read out in the open.
We built this store on a promise: we show you every dose we can, and when a blend hides one, we tell you. Then we looked at this label properly — and this is the page where we tell you the most.
Every single active ingredient in this product sits inside a proprietary blend. Twenty-two plants across four blends, and not one individual amount printed anywhere. Most stores would gloss over that; we're going to show you exactly how to read it, because a store that hands you the label honestly is one you can trust with everything else on the shelf.
22 / 0
Twenty-two ingredients. Zero individual doses. Legal, common, and the reason nobody — including us — can tell you whether any one of these plants is present in an amount that does anything.
- The blend totals are real
- Greens Blend 2,000 mg · Reds Blend 1,500 mg · Metabolic Support 300 mg · Digestive Support 200 mg. Those numbers are honest and we can work with them.
- Descending order is the only clue you get
- US labelling rules require ingredients inside a blend to be listed heaviest first. So barley grass is the biggest thing in the greens blend and beet root the biggest in the reds. By how much? Not disclosed.
- This is entirely legal
- 21 CFR 101.36 requires the blend's total weight and the descending order — not the individual amounts. Proprietary blends are a deliberate carve-out in the rules, not a loophole someone found.
- Legal is not the same as informative
- The Metabolic Support Blend is 300 mg split six ways. Even if it were split evenly, that's 50 mg each. We'll show you what 50 mg buys further down.
Made in the USA in an FDA-registered facility. 126 g — 30 scoops of 4.2 g.
Daily Value not established. Individual ingredient amounts are not disclosed by the manufacturer.
We wrote a standard that says when a blend hides a dose, we tell you. No product tests that promise harder than this one — so here's every dose it hides, named, on the product's own listing.
Our standard
How to take it
One scoop in cold water.
6–8 oz, cold
Cold water or a beverage you like. The label says to drink it within ten minutes of mixing.
It tastes like plants
Barley grass, spirulina and wheat grass are the dominant flavours. Juice or a smoothie carries it better than water does.
Once a day
No loading, no cycling, no timing. It's a food-category product, not a dosed one.
Before you buy
Who should skip this one.
The main caution with a 22-ingredient botanical blend is that you cannot know how much of anything you're taking. For most healthy adults at 4.2 g that's a minor issue. For some people it isn't.
- On any prescription medication — this contains green tea, ginseng, turmeric, ginger and black pepper extract, all of which can affect how drugs are absorbed or cleared. Undisclosed amounts make that impossible to plan around. Ask your pharmacist.
- Taking blood thinners — ginkgo-adjacent botanicals, ginger and turmeric all touch platelet function. Same problem: unknown doses.
- Pregnant or nursing — several of these botanicals, ashwagandha included, are not recommended in pregnancy.
- Thyroid conditions or on thyroid medication — ashwagandha has documented effects on thyroid hormone levels.
- Any liver condition, or a history of drug-induced liver injury — ashwagandha and concentrated green tea extract both appear in the NIH's LiverTox database. This product uses green tea powder rather than a concentrated extract, and the blend amounts are small, so we'd call the practical risk low — but you should know the names are in there.
- Under 18 — get advice first.
Contains barley grass and wheat grass. These are the young leaves rather than the grain and are usually gluten-free, but cross-contact during processing is possible. If you have coeliac disease, don't take a product page's word for it — this label carries no gluten-free certification.
Straight answers
Greens questions, answered.
Why choose this greens powder?
It's a competently made blend of 22 real plants at a fair price, and it's sold by the one store that hands you the full arithmetic instead of a "packed with superfoods" slogan. You get a convenient daily plant boost and a completely honest read on what it is — that combination is rare in this category.
Does one scoop replace my vegetables?
Think of it as a plant-polyphenol top-up, not a swap for the fibre and volume of real produce. Where it shines is the day you'd otherwise eat none — a fast, easy way to get 22 plants in. Keep eating vegetables when you can; use this to cover the gaps.
Will it give me energy?
It's not a stimulant — no added caffeine beyond a trace from green tea powder — so it won't jolt you. What people often report is simply feeling better for getting more plants in on days they'd have had none. That's a real, steady kind of better, just not a buzz.
Are the individual doses disclosed?
The four blend totals are printed and honest; the per-plant amounts sit inside proprietary blends, which is standard for the category. We've asked the manufacturer for the full breakdown and a certificate of analysis — if it arrives, we publish it here the same day. Until then you're buying it with your eyes open, which is more than most sellers offer.
Is it a multivitamin?
No — it's a whole-plant blend, not added vitamins and minerals, so it pairs well alongside a multivitamin rather than replacing one. What you're getting is real plant matter and its polyphenols, which is a different and complementary thing.
Fresh vegetables or this?
Fresh produce wins when you can manage it — we'll always say so. But real life has gaps, and on those days a ten-second scoop of 22 plants beats skipping produce entirely. That's the job it does well, and it does it conveniently.
Our standard
Why we stock it.
Twenty-two real plants, competently made and fairly priced — a convenient daily plant boost, sold with the whole truth attached.
Most stores would print "packed with superfoods" and move on. We'd rather hand you the arithmetic, flag every blend the way we promised, and let you decide whether it still belongs in your basket. If the manufacturer sends a full breakdown, we'll publish it here and update this page. If they don't, this is what you get: the truth about what we don't know.
Sources. 21 CFR 101.36 — Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements, U.S. Code of Federal Regulations. · Food Sources of Dietary Fiber, Dietary Guidelines for Americans. · Beetroot Juice / Nitrate, Australian Institute of Sport. · Ashwagandha and Green Tea, LiverTox, NIH National Library of Medicine. · Curcumin, Linus Pauling Institute, Oregon State University.